Come back regularly to see the latest reviews of
Backups for Final Cut Pro!

Rated 5 Stars on the U.S. App Store!

iTunes Reviews on the U.S.A. store

Awesome app and customer service ☆☆☆☆☆
by darkhitect - Version - 1.1.0 - Dec 9, 2016

I’ve known about this app for a while but only recently felt like I needed it. I was editing in FCPX and the app suddenly crashed. When I opened the app back up, it did not show the changes I had made in the last 10 minutes. Yikes! I’ve been using X since it was released years ago and this had never happened to me before. I have always been impressed by the apps ability to automatically save as I work. But for whatever reason, this time it did not. And the latest back up did not reflect my recent changes. So I got backups for FCPX and it has worked like a charm. I’m able to save every 2 mins to DropBox. I also, had a recent issue and reached out to support. They sent me a detailed email that easily cleared up my problem. Very happy I finally pulled the trigger on this.

Posted 1/8/17

Ahhh ☆☆☆☆☆
by bayoyong - Version - 1.1.0 - Mar 14, 2016

From external to Dropbox to safety. Thanks, Backups, for helping me feel better. :)

Posted 1/8/17

Peace of mind: With ability to hide libraries from Backups list made this a 5! ☆☆☆☆☆
by Staying Pure - Version - 1.1.0 - May 16, 2015

I love this app. It’s given me peace of mind since working in FCPX. I made the mistake of relying solely on the built-in backup of FCP X, and paid the price. A day’s worth of work was unrecoverable. Now, I set Backups for FCP up and select a snapshot to occur every 3 minutes. No more fears of losing critical work. Now in this version, you can hide libraries currently not in need of backing up, which is a phenomenal feature to have, and one that I requested. I appreciate the developer listening to feedback and I am happy to rate this 5 stars! Don’t hestitate to download it, as it will become a critical part of your workflow and potentially save you time AND money in the long run!

Posted 5/18/15

Great App ☆☆☆☆☆
by chip_c - Version - 1.0.5 - Feb 17, 2015

I am new to FCPX, having spent many years on FCP 3–7 and other apps all the way back to splicing 16 mm film in the early 80’s. Apple has radically updated the process of editing and I say, for the better. But with this updating comes complexity, and a lag of some features. Backups for FCPX greatly simplifies my daily task of incremental backup. It works, it’s fast, and it’s painless. I had one question when first using, and the developer returned my email within a few minutes, answering my question, and with that, answering a few other questions. Thanks for a fine tool.

Posted 2/20/15

Peace of mind: Ability to hide libraries from Backups list would make this a 5! ☆☆☆☆
by Staying Pure - Version - 1.0.5 - Jan 30, 2015

I love this app. It’s given me peace of mind since working in FCPX. I made the mistake of relying solely on the built-in backup of FCPX, and paid the price. A day’s worth of work was unrecoverable. Now, I set Backups for FCPX up and select a snapshot to occur every 3 minutes. No more fears of losing critical work. The ONLY thing I wish is that there was a way to “hide” backups on a drive that I’m currently not using. As it stands, I have a fairly long list of backups listed in the small viewer window that I’d love to hide, while focusing on backups of my current Libraries displayed.
[Note the May 16 review above.]

Posted 2/9/15

Must own for FCPx Users. ☆☆☆☆☆
by JR “Bob” Dobbs - Version - 1.0.4 - Sep 10, 2014

If you use FCPx and don’t use this app, you are just inviting trouble. An absolute must for protecting the hard work you put into your video editing. Very flexible in what you back up — all files or just changes in the project. Only two things I hope are changed: 1. The ability to only back up particular libraries and not the entire volume and 2. Allows the computer to shut down when it’s running. I also use SuperDuper or Carbon Copy Cloner to back up at night when I leave because both of these will shut down the computer when they are done but this app prevens shut down. These are minor inconveniences in comparison to the gerat job it does as a backup and restore utility.

Posted 10/16/14

A definite must for video editors ☆☆☆☆☆
by screendor - Version - 1.0.4 - Mar 26, 2014

Great program—definitely fills a gap a as a means to make timed backups of your libraries, events and projects. Developer is super responsive and helpful with queries and support. UI is a little plain and the FAQ could use a bit of polish, but the app works quite well and does what it needs to do. Definitely a must have for any editor serious about backups.

Posted 3/30/14

Very useful – Great price ☆☆☆☆☆
by Britim 2 - Version - 1.0.4 - Mar 12, 2014

One of the very best apps a FCP X user should buy. The app works and it works very well. It’s worth more than what the author is charging and the new version works great with the library changes in 10.1. My only suggestion is that the author creates an option to have the software launch at system startup. There are a few times where I would forget to launch the app after starting FCP X

Posted 3/14/14

The Perfect Solution ☆☆☆☆☆
by ddover77 - Version - 1.0.3 - Oct 9, 2013

This is the perfect solution for the travelling videographer. Support is excellent and the app couldn't be easier to use. I love that this exists :-)

Posted 2/17/14

Better than life insurance! ☆☆☆☆☆
by EditingFX - Version - 1.0.3 - Sep 16, 2013

Because you may someday **want** to use Backups for FCPX! Honestly, I had it installed not more than a week, and it helped me out of some funky jam I’d gotten myself into. Haven’t used it in anger since, but it’s always there, running in the bg, in case a Project gets wonky, or I need to backtrack through some edit versions. It’s better than the missing Legacy backup method, as it gives you much more control over what it’s doing. The developer is also SUPER RESPONSIVE to questions, and seems committed to making this “best in class” (even if it may be the only one in the class). Who shouldn’t use Backups? Those without car insurance, health insurance, and who bet it all holding on 16 at Vegas blackjack. Everyone else, sleep better, get a copy.

Posted 9/16/13

Great App! ☆☆☆☆☆
by hswizzle1976 - Version - 1.0.3 - Sep 8, 2013

Works flawlessly. Get it.

Posted 9/10/13

Saved my Bacon ☆☆☆☆☆
by Brian Spilner - Version - 1.0.3 - Sep 5, 2013

As much as we hate paying for insurance this is the one time I am glad I did. I somehow managed to mess up an edit I was working on and because I quit FCP I had no options to undo. I fired up this little bad boy and restored my project to what it looked like 30mins prior… Saved my bacon big time. Happy client, happy life. Thank you to the awesome developers for this little gem.

Posted 9/10/13

This app is an editors dream ☆☆☆☆☆
by Notevenkidding - Version - 1.0.3 - Aug 22, 2013

FCP X remains lacking in the ‘reliable backup department,’ and at $18, this app is a true bargain for your peace of mind. As reliable and easy to use as this app is; I cant say enough about the one-on-one support that comes with it. I was having a bit of confusion at first (100% user error), and the support team took their time to explain the issue and help me resolve what was wrong on my end. No more corrupted files and lost man-hours… Thanks!!

Posted 9/10/13

Great little app and even better support ☆☆☆☆
by TriHills - Version - 1.0.3 - Jul 25, 2013

Just bought this app. Somehow, FCPX doesn’t have a good backup tool within the app and this does the trick. I had troubles after installing the app when I first tried to run it. The developer responded immediately to my queries and between us, we got it working very promptly. The problem was mostly at my end, not the app. Thanks for filling a needed hole.

Posted 7/26/13

Pro editor? Use FCPX? Then buy this app. Period. ☆☆☆☆☆
by EditingFX - Version - 1.0.2 - Jul 14, 2013

Been editing video since the days of 2" tape. Switched to FCPX last year. Though it’s easy enough to make duplicates of your project inside X, there’s no provision for automatic backups (ala’ FCP 7). This app solves that problem in an elegant and flexible manner. Now I know that should something get corrupted, or I simply need to backtrack a few minutes on my work due to a brain fart keystroke combo (yeah, we’ve all had those “oh sh*t, what happened there?” moments), that there are ample backups in place, not just the single backup FCPX creates. As others have said, the developer is very responsive — I just had a email thread with him over the weekend. And he’s committed to continued work on it. So don’t let your $$$ projects hang by a single backup — get this app. Sleep better at night.

Posted 7/14/13

Fills a hole in the FCPX workflow ☆☆☆☆
by larsonian pictures - Version - 1.0.2 - Jun 14, 2013

I had been looking for some way to backup my FCPX projects seprately from my media files and that is exactly what this app lets me do. Easy to set up with the defaut settings, but lots of flexibility to backup just what you want if you want that level of control. Very responsive developer, so I’m looking forward to seeing how this app evolves. It would be a 5 star app if it had better support for working with Disk Images so hopefuly that won’t be too far off.

Posted 6/16/13

Genius ☆☆☆☆☆
by EGIVideo - Version - 1.0.2 - Jun 5, 2013

So far so good. Have been looking for exactly this. Haven’t needed to use this but I now feel safer because of it.

Posted 6/7/13

Nice update! ☆☆☆☆☆
by geekco - Version - 1.0.2 - May 31, 2013

Great app, if you use FCP X for anything important, get this app!

Posted 6/1/13

Great, Overall! One Gripe but Worth The Price ☆☆☆☆
by cinemaloha - Version - 1.0.1 - May 10, 2013

Backups is great app for FCPX’s shortcoming but I wish it’s icon docked in the menu bar. I tested several backups/restores and it works great. Haven’t encounter anything unusual…so far so good. It would’ve been a 5 star if they added the menu bar icon docking instead of having a window open.

Posted 5/13/13

Life saver! ☆☆☆☆☆
by miggsb - Version - 1.0.1 - Apr 12, 2013

The fact that FCPX doesn’t even have a “Save” command, makes me queasy, so “Backups for FCP” comes to the rescue with its “GO” button, letting me save my edits whenever the urge strikes me, as well as letting me backup at scheduled intervals. Now when I edit with FCPX, I feel like I’m wearing a Kevlar life preserver in an ocean full of digital debris and corruption, ready to sink me and all my hard work.

Posted 4/13/13

Really Great App! ☆☆☆☆☆
by geekco - Version - 1.0.1 - Apr 10, 2013

Very comprehensive, easy to use app. Highly recommended.

Posted 4/13/13

Seems very good … ☆☆☆☆
by lee faulkner - Version - 1.0.0 - Feb 23, 2013

This is a sorely needed addition to an FCP X set up. FCP X is very robust when it comes to persitent saving and I’ve never lost any data through a crash. But it’s just a matter of time until a disk goes bad and having a history of project back ups is very comforting! It’s easy to configure … automatically backs up events and projects as regularly as you want and seems to work! My test resttore went fine, so its totally worth the purchaase. 4 Stars for a bit until I get to know the app better …. see how it fares thorugh an FCP X update. If all is well after than 5 stars from me!

Posted 3/6/13

iTunes Review on the Switzerland store

Ein „Must“ für alle Final Cut Pro(fis) ☆☆☆☆☆
by Markus Oertly, PHTG - Version - 1.1.0 - Aug 19, 2016

Dieses Werkzeug liefert genau das, was ich in Final Cut Pro schon seit Beginn vermisste: Eine einfache und zuverlässige Sicherung auf einer externer Harddisk, sowohl meiner gesamten Projektmediathek, wie auch meines Arbeitsprozesses im Verlaufe eines Projekts. So kann ich manuell oder in einem gewünschten Zeitintervall automatisierte Backups meines Projekts erstellen und bei Bedarf in Sekundenschnelle auf den Stand von gestern abend oder vor 35 Minuten zurück greifen, oder wenn gewünscht wieder den aktuellsten Stand laden… Das Programm erledigt alles im Hintergrund. Lediglich ein genügend grosses Backup-Volume anschliessen, einmal einen Backup-Prozess definieren (einstellen ob nur Projektinfo, oder auch die Medien gesichert werden sollen…, ob mit Zeitinterval oder manuell, aktiv/nicht aktiv…) und schon kann ich mich ruhigen Gewissens in die Arbeit am FCP-Projekt vertiefen, im Wissen, dass im Notfall alles gebackupt ist. Ein absolutes „Must“ für alle seriöse Final Cut Pro(fis) zu einem tiefen Preis, der jegliche Diskussion ob ja oder doch nicht... überflüssig macht.

Posted 1/7/17

iTunes Review on the Austria store

Funktioniert manchmal, manchmal nicht… ☆☆
by RaiFeh - Version - 1.1.0 - Jul 20, 2015

Leider ist, zumindest bei mir, das erstellen neuer Backups ein Glücksspiel. Manchmal geht es, meistens nicht. Netter support vom Entwickler aber auf einen grünen Zweig sind wir leider auch so nicht gekommen.
[This problem is being actively investigated. If you are experiencing any problems defining a new backup operation, please contact our support. — NP Associates, LLC]

Posted 7/23/15

iTunes Reviews on the Germany store

life saver! ☆☆☆☆☆
by FSLMA - Version - 1.1.0 - May 29, 2015

ein mal gebraucht und um ein zigfaches ausgezahlt. Läuft unaufällig im Hintergrund. Ein MUSS für FCPX.

Posted 6/12/15

Great affordable Backup Software with growing feature list. ☆☆☆☆
by sonicVision.de - Version - 1.0.0 - Feb 13, 2013

Very easy to setup and easy to use. Customer Service and Development is excellent. The developer got back to me within hours to listen to my feedback for further features. I understand “Event Manager” support is coming soon and a lot more. Great little saver of my precious work…. More under the hood than meets the eye. Highly Recommended.

Posted 3/7/13

Now with backup hidden projects and events :) ☆☆☆☆☆
by goldmann.de - Version - 1.0.1 - Mar 6, 2013

Love that app. Easy to install, easy to use. Feel a lot safer now for my work.

Posted 3/7/13

iTunes Reviews on the Netherlands store

Easy and quickly to setup and doing a great job in using it ☆☆☆☆☆
by Renevkl - Version - 1.0.5 - Apr 14, 2015

Easy and quickly to setup and self explanatory in using it. I like the way comments can be added to the snapshots so they are eary to identify to return to the edit status you want. I have integrated it in my editing workflow and backup strategy where I use the manual snapshot feature and it does a great job.

Posted 4/15/15

Life saver! ☆☆☆☆☆
by ManuTen - Version - 1.0.5 - Oct 8, 2014

I can’t tell you how much this app has saved my work many times. The app runs in the background and allows you to go back to where you where in one click. It is much much better than the built-in backup for FCPX. Only downside for me, it is not integrated in the taskbar. But it’s a detailed compared to the time it has already saved me. I cannot recommend it more.

Posted 10/16/14

Great tool, simple to use. ☆☆☆☆☆
by Erik_ - Version - 1.0.4 - Jun 20, 2014

This is really THE tool that gives you the needed support for easily making timed backups of all your FCP X projects; easy to configure, easy to use. This is the feature that Apple should have built into Final Cut Pro! Select to include or not include media (which enables you to make intermediate backups while editing, or generating an archive file after editing has been finished). Backups into a single file (a bundle), which makes it easy to copy to an external disc or other media. Just great!

Posted 6/23/14

iTunes Reviews on the U.K. store

Continues to be indispensable ☆☆☆☆☆
by Captain Slocum - Version - 1.0.5 - Sep 29, 2014

I first wrote a review of this before FCPX went over to libraries. They updated the app to take account of the new library system and it has been working perfectly ever since. It is easy to use, fast and saves time and disk space. I have had occasion to restore a library that got wiped from my hard drive and it did so in seconds. Highly recommended.

Posted 10/16/14

Backups for Final Cut ProX ☆☆☆☆☆
by photo designer - Version - 1.0.4 - Sep 1, 2014

Just brilliant. Once the initial backup is made to wherever you decide, then it backs up only the changes made to projects, events and whole libraries. This saves SO MUCH TIME!!!! So far – over a month with daily backups – this has worked flawlessly. Just can’t recommend this little app enough.

Posted 10/16/14

Just what I have been looking for ☆☆☆☆☆
by Captain Slocum - Version - 1.0.3 - Nov 17, 2013

Backing up my FCPX events and projects had become a nightmare, often taking hours to backup when only a few GB of data had changed, but this app makes it all so much quicker and easier. The developer has been incredibly helpful and responsive when I have had questions, and it is clear that the app is being actively developed and improved all the time. I have no hesitation in recommending you use this app if you want to simplify and speed up your backup strategy, especially if you use the excellent Event Manager X.

Posted 11/18/13

Very necessary addition to FCPX ☆☆☆☆☆
by Himtown - Version - 1.0.3 - Sep 6, 2013

As much as I love FCPX, there’s quite a bit about it that is still not quite as it should be. Events and project databases can occasionally become corrupted and leave you with no recourse. This is a simple way to avoid losing masses of work.

Posted 9/10/13

iTunes Review on the Russia store

Very few functions ☆☆☆
by NikolayM - Version - 1.0.4 - Mar 31, 2014

Very few functions. Not easy to configure. Only copies the autosave. No easy search. No forced saving.
[Would like to know more about what the user would like in a search feature. — NP Associates, LLC]

Posted 4/21/14

iTunes Reviews on the Canadian store

Backup ☆☆☆☆☆
by qwht46hy - Version - 1.0.4 - Apr 9, 2014

Works as it should. Full or incremental. Great tool.

Posted 4/21/14

Finally! The missing link in our studio ☆☆☆☆☆
by iBrokeYourMacMini - Version - 1.0.3 - Nov 11, 2013

I own a small video studio that manually backed up all video and projects onto master drive, then an editor would copy a project on their personal drive to begin work. This was great for media backup, but the daily project work was not getting backed up regularly because, even though the editors were *supposed* to back up their work, it just wasn’t happenning. Along comes Backups for Final Cut Pro *Huge Applause* and now everyone’s work is being safely backed up without anyone giving a second thought. Thank you so much for this app! Using ‘Backups’, we’re backing up Events and Projects to a Google Drive account, giving us offsite redundancy. Wahoo.

Posted 2/17/14

Very useful addition to my toolbox ☆☆☆☆☆
by fingersmcginty - Version - 1.0.1 - Apr 5, 2013

I had actually quit using Final Cut Pro X due to its ridiculously complicated Events, Projects, and other folders. Then I learned about Event Manager X and that helped, by turning off projects I didn’t need. So I went back to FCPX. But still, backing up was a pain. Until now: with Backups for FCPX I can control not only the frequency but the folders that I want backed up, where I want to back them up to, and can automate this so I don’t lose a version. That’s the other thing that was supposedly a good idea in FCPX, the “never have to press Command+S” to save. It saves everything but it does so in a way that I am neither particularly happy with nor find very useful. So now with Backups for FCPX I can save versions without having to duplicate projects each time I want to keep a version. And another thing: the developer, Nicholas Pisarro Jr, has written a really useful White Paper on backing up files in FCPX, but if I enter the web address here to download it, Apple will probably not post this review. So ask the developer for it at the address above and he’ll send it to you. All in all this is a very worthwhile complement to the toolbox.

Posted 4/6/13

iTunes Review on the Portugal store

Muito útil ☆☆☆☆☆
by coutopaulo - Version - 1.0.4 - Mar 21, 2014

A organização do novo FCPX tornou a gestã o dos backups muito complicada, pois leva muito tempo a configurar o TimeMachine para fazer backups apenas dos ficheiros importantes deixando de fora os renders. Este programa resolve isso de uma forma muito simples, rápida e automática. Aconselho vivamente!

Posted 3/23/14

iTunes Review on the Japan store

Very Nice and it’s simple ☆☆☆☆☆
by jacckwy - Version - 1.0.4 - Feb 22, 2014

Simply App for FCP X can make Backups of Events and Projects automatically. Highly Recommended for professionals and workers using FCP X.

Posted 3/7/14

iTunes Review on the Mexico store

Wow ☆☆☆☆☆
by el_flashito - Version - 1.0.3 - Nov 23, 2013

Es indispensable tenerlo, no perderan un proyecto o evento jamas. Super.

Posted 2/17/14

iTunes Reviews on the Australian store

Great and Essential. ☆☆☆☆
by Seanus - Version - 1.0.2 - Jul 10, 2013

There’s nothing like piece of mind when you’re editing a big project and that’s what this program gives you. The developer is listening to feedback and working hard to make this program even better than it already is. So if you care about your work and want piece of mind, this is the best money you will ever spend.

Posted 7/11/13

Finally somebody really understands backup ☆☆☆☆☆
by Cofe - Version - 1.0.1 - Mar 25, 2013

Was dabbling with other solutions or using ‘hammers’ to make general backup software work with Final Cut X. Finally I can stop ‘hammering’ or deleting either a million false backups or going through crashes. Just reading Nick’s CV tells you this guy actually knows what he is doing and it shows. Easy to use, clever execution, avoiding the unnecessary stuff, just what you want from a backup software. Once setup you can forget about it until the need arises which hopefully never will though we know better :-) If anything putting it into the finder menu as mentioned before would be great but not a deal breaker! Highly recommended over any other solution for Final Cut X.

Posted 5/27/13

FOCUS: « Backups for Final Cut Pro »
An excellent video tutorial by YAKYAKYAK.fr

A 14 minute tutorial in French by Erwan Le Cloirec of Paris

At:

We’re working on a version with English dialog.

Posted 2/12/13, Updated 3/15/14

fcp.co — Backing up Final Cut Pro X automatically with Backups

fcp.co has a nice write-up. Read the comments section since many are using it there.

Posted 2/12/13